2013 Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

On September 29, 2010, in collaboration with her provincial and territorial counterparts, the Information Commissioner of Canada officially announced the creation of the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award.
The award is presented each year in memory of John Grace, former Information Commissioner of Canada, and Marcel Pépin, president and founder of the Commission d'accès à l'information du Québec. It recognizes the efforts of an individual, a group or an organization that has made a significant contribution to the promotion of access to information principles.The 2012 winner of the Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award was Darrell Evans of Vancouver, BC. He was awarded the honour in light of his long-term dedication and hard work in advancing the principles of access to information both in his home province and across Canada.

This year, the award will be presented during Canadian Right to Know Week, which is taking place from September 23 to 28. Nominations for the 2013 recipient are currently open, and will be accepted until August 15, 2013. If you would like to nominate someone, or are interested in learning more about the award, check out this brochure or visit www.righttoknow.ca.