CJFE Gala Awards

2018 Vox Libera Award Winner Michael Geist with son Ethan Geist at the 2018 Gala

In Canada and around the world, individuals regularly face obstacles in order to get the truth out. Whether the threats be judicial, physical or otherwise, these dedicated and principled people continue to work tirelessly—risking their jobs, their freedom and even their lives—so that the news media remains free.

At the annual CJFE Gala: A Night to Honour Courageous Reporting, CJFE presents the following awards to honour those who champion free expression in different ways:

  • International Press Freedom Award
  • Vox Libera Award
  • Investigative Award
  • Integrity Award
  • Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award


IPFA_Cropped.jpgInternational Press Freedom Award

Each year, the International Press Freedom Award is bestowed in recognition of the journalists around the world who work tirelessly, often risking their lives, so that the news media remain free. The winner demonstrates a commitment to human rights and has overcome enormous odds simply to produce the news.
Previous winners include Javier Valdez (2018), Elena Milashina (2017), Chang Ping (2016), Safa Al Ahmad (2015), Oleksiy Matsuka (2014), Ahmet Sik (2013) and Rami Jarrah (2012).


Vox_Libera_Cropped.jpgVox Libera Award

The Vox Libera Award is granted to a Canadian individual or organization who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the principles of free expression and who has had made an important and sustained contribution—at home or abroad—to those same principles.

Previous winners include Michael Geist (2018), Jameel Jaffer (2015), Native Women's Association of Canada (2014), and Dan Henry (2012).

Investigative_Cropped.jpgArnold Amber Award for Investigative Journalism

The Arnold Amber Award for Investigative Journalism celebrates a journalist, investigative researcher or media worker who has made a significant contribution to advancing investigative public interest reporting in Canada.

Previous winners include Robyn Doolittle (2017), CBC Aboriginal (2016) and Ken Rubin (2015).




Integrity_Cropped.jpgIntegrity Award

The Integrity Award recognizes and builds awareness of the need to protect the rights of whistleblowers—those who, without thought of personal gain, expose corruption or illegal or unethical practices in the public or private sectors, often risking threats to their careers, livelihood or personal freedom.

Previous winners include Asad Aryubwal (2016), Bob Thompson (2013), and Drs. Shiv Chopra, Margaret Haydon and Gerard Lambert (2011).



Tara_Singh_Hayer_Cropped.jpgTara Singh Hayer Memorial Award

The Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award recognizes a Canadian journalists who, through his or her work, has made an important contribution to reinforcing and promoting the principle of freedom of the press in Canada or elsewhere, and who has taken personal risks or suffered physical reprisals for their work.

Previous winners include Capital Gazette Staff (2018), Kim Bolan (2017), Ali Mustafa (2016), Kathy Gannon (2014), Enquete (2012), Guy-Andre Kieffer (2004), and Zahra Kazemi (2003).

Learn more about award criteria, nomination deadlines, and instructions for submitting nominations.

What do you think?

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Bob Thomson
    commented 2019-06-23 10:37:48 -0400
    Just visiting and I noticed that my name is misspelled under the Integrity Award description. It’s Thomson not Thompson. I couldn’t find a search function. Is there one? You can find my 2013 gala award acceptance remarks at http://tinyurl.com/CJFE-Chile