2013 Gala highlights

At the 2013 CJFE Gala, we honoured International Press Freedom Award recipients Ahmet Şık (Turkey), and Mebrahtu Teclesion Berhe, Ruth Zecarias, and Dessale Berekhet Abraham (Eritrea), as well as our Integrity Award recipient Bob Thomson (Canada).

For more from the 2013 Gala, view the photos and videos below.

Event Photo Gallery

The 16th annual CJFE Gala: A Night to Honour Courageous Reporting took place Wednesday, December 4, at the Fairmont Royal York hotel in Toronto. The moving evening provided attendees with numerous stories of courageous individuals who put the public interest above their own welfare.

2013 Photo Exhibit: Belarus

They are glimpses of everyday life in Belarus, a country not often viewed in such intimate detail. Belarus gained its independence from USSR in 1991, but maintains close ties to Russia and remains under the dictatorship of Alexander Lukashenko. The 2013 Press Freedom Index compiled by Reporters Without Borders, listed Belarus 157th among the 179 countries studied.

2013 Gala Videos

View all of the videos from our 2013 CJFE Gala: A Night to Honour Courageous Reporting.