Event details

Mae Azango, International Press Freedom Award recipient, at the 2012 CJFE Gala: A Night to Honour Courageous Reporting | Photo: Saman Aghvami


What you don’t know CAN hurt you. Free expression is under attack around the world – and in our own backyard. Never before have we had so many ways to communicate, nor have we been faced with more ways to be silenced and censored.

At the CJFE Gala: A Night to Honour Courageous Reporting, we feature stories that we would never have known about if people had not risked their jobs, their freedom or even their lives to tell us. This annual event is an opportunity to hear these stories and pay tribute to some of these brave individuals.


Date: Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Location: Fairmont Royal York hotel, Toronto, ON


Tickets for the 2014 Gala are now on sale! Purchase your tickets.


Interested in sponsoring the 2014 CJFE Gala? Visit our sponsorship page for more information.


Each year CJFE honours courageous journalists and citizens who defend press freedom and free expression in Canada and internationally. Take a look at our previous award winners for some of the amazing stories we've been able to tell.

Kathy Gannon
This year, CJFE will honour Canadian Associated Press reporter Kathy Gannon with the Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award.


The 2014 CJFE Gala will also feature an exclusive photo exhibit and silent auction of work from the late Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus. Niedringhaus was killed on April 4, 2014, while working in Afghanistan alongside Canadian journalist Kathy Gannon, this year’s Tara Singh Hayer Award recipient.


Carol Off is the Chair of the CJFE Gala Committee, and co-host of CBC Radio's As It Happens.


Denise Donlon, C.M., Canadian Broadcast Executive, Host and Producer
Wendy Freeman, President, CTV News
Patrick Gossage, Founder and Chair, Media Profile
Margo Kelly, Arts Reporter, CBC Radio
Frank Switzer, Vice-President Corporate Communications, Sun Life Financial
Krista Webster, President and Partner, Veritas Communications
Lyn Whitham, Marketing and Communications Consultant
Madeline Ziniak, National Vice-President, Rogers OMNI Television

Latest award winners


  • Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award

    Photo: AP

    Kathy Gannon serves as special regional correspondent for Pakistan and Afghanistan for The Associated Press.

    She has covered the region for the AP as a correspondent and bureau chief since 1988, a period that spans the withdrawal of Russian soldiers from...

  • International Press Freedom Award

    Oleksiy Matsuka is a veteran investigative journalist from Donetsk, eastern Ukraine. He has worked as the editor of the regional news website Novosti Donbassa, which charts politics, corruption, and abuses of authority, for the past 10 years.

    In August...


  • International Press Freedom Award

    Ahmet Şık is a freelance journalist and photographer living and working in Turkey. He has worked at several publications, including Cumhuriyet, Evrensel, Yeni Yüzyıl and Radikal. He was forced to turn to freelance journalism after facing retribution from his former employer for an...